e-Tourist Visa and e –Business Visa

The e-Tourist visa facility initiated in the September of 2014 with a total of 46 applicable countries has now been remodelled with a total of 166 applicable countries. In the recent times, the Government of India has carried out a series of alterations in the e-Visa regime making it more liberalized for the tourists and henceforth, making it more tourist-friendly. In order to achieve the goal of creating a tourist-friendly environment, the Ministry of Tourism has collaborated with the Ministry of Affairs, with the prime purpose of making the process of e-Visa facility effortless over a foreseeable period of time

The chief alterations made are accentuated as below:-

The total span of stay in India regarding the e-Tourist Visa and e-Business Visa would be to a maximum period of one year complemented with multiple entry as per the stay stipulations.

In addition to the above highlighted change, the existing restriction of allowing overseas travelers for a maximum of three times has now been withdrawn.

Changes in e-Tourist Visa for India:-

Under the subcategory of e-Tourist visa, the continual stay during each visit shall not exceed the time frame of 90 days for all nationals eligible for grant of e-Visa except the nationals of USA, UK, Canada and Japan.

For the nationals of USA, UK, Canada and Japan, the time period of continual stay shall not exceed 180 days.

For all the cases under this subcategory, no registration would be required.

Changes in e-Business Visa for India:-

The total time period for continual stay in any case shall not exceed 180 days, applicable for the nationals of all the countries who are eligible for grant of e-Visa. No registration would be required, if the total span of stay is less than the permitted time frame of 180 days.

Other Changes:

Raising the total number of airports valid for entry, the airports of Port Blair and Bhubaneswar have also been included in the list of designated airports, increasing the list to a total number of 28 airports valid for entry into the Indian subcontinent.
In case the purpose of visit is for attending a destination wedding, it would be included in the subcategory of e-Tourist visa or Tourist Visa. It must be duly noted that there would be no separate category provided for ‘Destination Wedding.
The overseas travelers who fall sick during their duration of visit in India, can now avail medical treatment without upholding the conversion of their e-Visa to e-Medical Visa. This has been done to facilitate the treatment of any unforeseen medical emergencies.
The facility of Visa-on-Arrival has now been extended to the nationals of Republic of Korea.

Comparative Statement showing recent changes made by the Government of India in the field of e-visa (e-Tourist visa and e-Business visa) has also been enclosed as under:

e-VISA Application PROCESS

Step 1
Apply online

Upload Photo and Passport Page

Step 2
Pay visa fee online

Using Credit / Debit card

Step 3

e-Visa Will be sent to your e-mail

Step 4

Print e-Visa and carry at the time of travel